Reviews

Reviews

Leave your own review or see what other customers are saying.

Great service, excellent food
Dined on 7/4/2014
My husband and I decided to have a ‘date night’ after day on the beach with the family on July 4th and found this restaurant the perfect setting. The service was great and the food excellent. We arrived early but we were seated right away, the service was prompt and the staff knew their menu and I was able to choose a meal knowing what I was getting.
We have been there before for brunch with family and had been impressed with the service then so decided to try it for a more intimate meal and we’re glad we did. Plenty to choose from the menu but not too large that it takes 1/2 hour to read, extensive wine menu but we didn’t have wine this time, the cocktails were good too!
-OpenTable

Nice experience at Bistro West
Dined on 6/30/2014
Made last minute reservations, however it was not busy, thus reservations where not needed. The restaurant ambiance was much more than expected. Clean, open and modern booths were inviting and comfortable. Good wine (not extensive) however pricey. I had a excellent Sea Bass and wife had a delicious (but not as good as my dish) halibut. Serves was excellent.
Definitely worth a try if your in the Carlsbad area.
-OpenTable

Very Good Food
Dined on 6/30/2014
I love this place, great service and really good food. Always very accommodating. Incredible gluten free menu. My husband really appreciate it. Our meal was executed properly and I absolutely loved my dinner. Thank you for the really good meal. also Reggie is a top notch server.
-OpenTable

Local Gem
Dined on 6/30/14
I love their “Happy Hour Menu”. Reasonable prices and nice to eat and have cocktails outside on the patio–Less noise then inside.
-Trip Advisor

Fantastic Food and Service
Dined on 6/29/14
This is our first time dining at West Bistro for dinner. We were totally surprised by the modern and beautiful decor; fabulous food; and great service by Daniel.



We had the mussel/clam for $13 to share for a starter and the mussels were very FRESH and the smoked sausage cream sauce was also very tasty. 

For my main, I had the chicken pot pie with very flaky crust over a large dinner bowl. The chicken chunks, mushroom, and veggies were in a very tasty creamy sauce. I think I may even have tasted sherry in the chicken pot pie for $17. I just wished there were more mushrooms.



My son had the bison burger with blue cheese and caramelized onions and yam fries for $16. This is the BEST bison burger around because there was nothing dry about the meat. Instead, the bison was extremely tasty and actually quite moist. The yam fries were also so sweet. 



For dessert, we shared a panna cotta with strawberry coulis and some strawberries that had been soaked in grand mariner and balsamic vinegar. It had a very complex flavor–hits you with a tang initially then ends with a sweetness. The panna cotta for $9 tasted like a hybrid between an extremely cheesecake and greek yogurt. 

Our server, Daniel, was excellent. He always had a big smile on his face and he exudes such pride serving the food and one can tell that Daniel is very proud of the fantastic food at this restaurant. 



We know we will return to West Bistro for sure!
-Trip Advisor

Worth a stop, or two, or three . . .
Dined on 6/26/14
Convenient location (right off the I-5 at the Canon exit between the beach, the Carlsbad Outlet mall, and Strawberry Fields) and easy parking will draw you in, but the exceptional service and quality fare will keep you coming back. The restaurant has a nice buzz to it and the lounge, which also has outside seating, can offer a more relaxed setting (you can catch a game on one of their 3 televisions). The extensive menu truly has something for everyone, even some comfort food (meatloaf, potpie, gumbo, etc.). Many offerings come from the restaurant’s own gardens. Stop in after a long day of shopping!
-Trip Advisor

My daughter got straight A’s
Dined on 6/20/14
“…so as a reward we went to dinner and she got to pick the place . Well of course she wanted the Bistro’s chicken pot pie! I had the beet salad and added blackened salmon. The salmon was amazing!! And it’s my favorite beet salad anywhere so now it’s just perfect with the protein added. My daughter said the chicken pot pie was perfection as usual. I have to admit it’s even better than my homemade one ;) To my daughters delight there was a promotion going to reward kids with straight A’s- free dessert! Luckily, we had her report in the car to mail to grandma. It was a perfect way to end an amazing celebration dinner!! And great incentive for straight A’s next year too :)”
-OpenTable

The food, service and decor
Dined on 6/15/14
“make it a great place for all occasions.”
-OpenTable

We were celebrating both Father’s Day
Dined on 6/15/14
“…and my son’s upcoming wedding this weekend- dinner was great and the wait staff was awesome as usual! They even brought us a complimentary desert to share!!”
-OpenTable

Totally outstanding.
Dined on 6/14/14
“The food was worth the price. Everyone enjoyed their steaks, while I enjoyed the slab of sole. So many places say they have sole, but you get slices of overcooked mush. Bistro West’s sole was bout 1 inch thick, cooked just right.”
-OpenTable

Bistro West is the best place
Dined on 6/14/14
“…my wife and I have had the pleasure to eat since we have been in the San Diego area. We raved to our friends about it and have recommended they all try it. Our waiter Brandon, was outstanding, very knowledgeable and attentive to our dinner. We have to thank our friends for recommending Bistro West.”
-OpenTable

Jose was great!
Dined on 6/14/14
“Very attentive. Beet salad was awesome. My hubby had the Rueben and loved it. Dessert trip was amazing! Great place for lunch. Highly recommend. Hopefully Jose will be your server”
-OpenTable

Had a nice dinner with good friends.
Dined on 6/13/14
“Only negatives were that I had to ask for refills on water and I think I got a different pizza than what I ordered, although it was delicious. Nice selection on the menu, would definitely come back again!”
-OpenTable

We just discovered this place and love it!!
Dined on 6/08/14
“Our waiter Reggie was so enthusiastic when describing the specials he made you want to try everything!! Food was fantastic and huge portions.”
-OpenTable

Love how they serve produce from their own garden
Dined on 6/06/14
“…and everything I’ve had has been delicious. Gave it a 4 because I am a vegetarian (actually, tend toward vegan at home) and there are VERY limited options here. Even the minestrone was made with chicken stock and the veggie ravioli had pancetta mixed in. I know it’s affiliated with a steakhouse so the intention probably isn’t to cater to vegetarians, but a couple more options would be nice.”
-OpenTable

Fantasic food
Dined on 6/05/14
Great great food. fresh, excellent service — highly recommend. On vacation in Carlsbad and eaten in several all for lunch and by far the best. Just outstanding food.
-Trip Advisor

Had the lettuce wraps to start
Dined on 6/04/14
“Wonderful. Then the chicken pot pie – it wa the best I ever had. My friend had the Hawaiian plate and said it was great. Service was outstanding!!!”
-OpenTable

very pleasant meal
Dined on 6/04/14
My swordfish was well prepared with a bean and spinach side. Chopped wedge salad was above average, rolls were excellent, chocolate mousse was outstanding. Service was polished. Room was conducive to conversation. Recommend for a good meal!
-Trip Advisor

One of my favorites
Dined on 6/03/14
I always enjoyed dining here whether for a romantic dinner with my wife or lunch with clients. The service and food never disappoints and I love the overall interior design and ambiance. I highly recommend this casual yet classy “Bistro” close to the beach.
-Trip Advisor

Nice ambiance, great food
Dined on 6/02/14
“…and reasonable prices……A winner!”
-OpenTable

We had a wonderful evening
Dined on 5/31/14
“…celebrating our anniversary! Our waitress Heather, was exceptional! The food amazing and management very friendly, and all about the customer! I have been dreaming about the ahi!”
-OpenTable

Classy but ok with flip flops
Dined on 5/30/14
“…all the good food uou are looking for and from their own farm-every restaurant should be like this one”
-OpenTable

Great spot in Carlsbad
Dined on 5/29/14
Met my boss for lunch and wanted him to enjoy a good spot with a good selection of food. Great menu choices. Service was excellent, food was delicious and they let us do our business with minimal interruption. Highly recommend for a business lunch!
-Trip Advisor

My husband and I come here often.
Dined on 5/25/14
“We love sitting in the bar it’s very laid back!”
-OpenTable

We enjoyed the Bistro West.
Dined on 5/25/14
“The menu has something for almost everyone. Wait staff was superb, especially Brandon.”
-OpenTable

The bistro west is a great find
Dined on 5/25/14
“…they have a great happy hour with an extensive bar menu which has a variety of appetizers. The cocktails served are made with top shelf mixes and infused liquor that makes there happy hour drinks special. The dinner menu had a great selection of soups,salads which are made with farm fresh ingredients. There main course covered seafood, pastas, and a great selection of steaks.”
-OpenTable

Usually enjoy this restaurant
Dined on 5/22/14
“Great food and service generally BUT this time service was VERY slow (restaurant was busy) and my cobb salad was bland.”
-OpenTable

I can usually tell just by reading the menu
Dined on 5/20/14
“…if a restaurant will be good or not.. This one was GREAT! Had the ahi tartare..deliciously sweet and spicy. Loved the little seaweed salad that came with it. Tried the zucchini flowers..they were great. The only thing I would change is the bacon in the tomato jam.. It unnecessarily takes this option away from vegetarians..and it’s not the same without tomato sauce. My boyfriend had the avocado bacon burger and said it was the best burger he’d had in a really long time. Sweet potato fries on the side and he was a very happy camper! The bread pudding is a MUST! So so so delicious!”
-OpenTable

We visited Bistro West for the first time.
Dined on 5/17/14
“We live in Carlsbad and heard about this restaurant on KYXY. What a wonderful find! No problem getting a reservation. Wait staff were all friendly and welcoming. Food was terrific. It’s so wonderful to have a restaurant of this caliber so close to home. I would recommend Bistro West to everyone. We will certainly be returning.”
-OpenTable

never a complaint here.
Dined on 5/16/14
“we always talk about the meal and the service for weeks to come. I was thoroughly shocked at the delish kale soup. it was dreamy”
-OpenTable

Went to dinner here on Sat. night.
Dined on 5/10/14
“Food was amazing and the service was exceptional. Gumbo was really good as well as the sea bass. Cherry cobble and the cream brulee homemade! Definitely heading back here again!”
-OpenTable

We were seated quickly and our waiter
Dined on 5/09/14
“…Reginald, promptly introduced himself. We have two toddlers and he was astute enough to ask if we wanted to get their order in while we decided on our entrees. For safety, he also cleared away the knives and forks at their settings. We had the ahi tartare appetizer, definitely a recommend. Although the menu has a variety, my wife was craving the grilled vegetable panini. She enjoyed it very much. I had the short rib. It had a nice rich sauce and the vegetables were definitely fresh. We will definitely consider returning the next time we are in the area, even if we are not going to Lego Land.”
-OpenTable

Bistro West is a great spot for food
Dined on 5/04/14
“…wine and value…always excellent service! Easy to access and good,parking…highly recommend dining there. Our waiter was helpful,with food choices and the gluten free menu is awesome!!!!!”
-OpenTable

Best in Locale
Dined on 4/29/14
I meet here with folks from OC and others in North County SD Coastal area. Food and service are great. Feedback from guests has been very positive. Guests include former NFL stars and CEO’s of private companies whose time is particularly valuable and rating of environment and food for business meetings not constrained. Bottom line, my go-to place in the area.
-OpenTable

Casually Elegant and fresh food
Dined on 5/28/14
Although this restaurant is situated in a somewhat odd location, it is convenient to freeway access and easy to find. The complex features an inn, a steak and seafood restaurant (West), a gas station, and Bistro West. Don’t let the proximity to the gas station and train tracks fool you. Both restaurants are beautifully appointed inside and you don’t notice where they’re situated. The menu is not inventive, but the food is very good and much of the produce is grown locally on farm land leased by the restaurant. I’ve been here for brunch, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. All are very good. The short ribs are recommended as well as the salads and omelets. Personally, I’ve had much better pizzas elsewhere. They also have a 750 sq ft private room for special events. An organization I belong to hosted an evening event there and it was great! Beautiful space and great service.
-Trip Advisor

Food was wonderful
Dined on 5/27/14
The food was great quality for the price. Staff was friendly and professional even to my 10 year old son. We will go back when in the area.
-Trip Advisor

Bistro West – Anniversary Dinner
Dined on 5/26/14
My wife and I went for the first time as a night out for our wedding anniversary. The location was easy to find and parking was available even though the restaurant was full. There were several large parties reserved for the restaurant and we arrived at nearly the same time as one of the larger parties (10-15 people). The hostess was a little overwhelmed but was quickly supported by wait-staff and the FOH manager and everyone was extremely professional and the seating service was excellent. The atmosphere is lively with a bar and large open restaurant with high ceilings. The decor is very nice and the restaurant was very clean. Our waiter was prompt with a smile and returned often to check on us without being annoying. My wife commented that he was very nice and seemed to really enjoy his job. I had wine and my wife had a cocktail both of which were very good. The menu had a good range of options as the restaurant doesn’t specialize in any one type of dish. The food was very good and the service prompt and attentive. The prices are slightly higher but you are paying for the service, the atmosphere, and especially the farm to table economics which we found to be a selling point.
-Trip Advisor

Lots of swank and uniquely farm-fresh food
Dined on 5/22/14
The room is very elegant, but not super expensive. The menu is unique with lots of farm-fresh vegetables and unique dishes. They have pasta, steaks, and salads. I had the spaghetti with vodka tomato sauce which was servered with a number of large prawns. Exquisite! A friend had a ravioli with chard and other fresh vegetables. Also wonderful. We have a bread pudding with vanilla ice cream dessert that was also out of this world. Service was very good. We couldn’t be happier. The prices were mid-range $75 for a meal for two with drinks and dessert.

Note: There are actually two restaurants on this property. West is a high-end, very swank restaurant with valet parking. We walked in there first before discovering we were in the wrong one. Bistro West is just across the parking lot, but nearby and nearly as swank, but more reasonable prices. It looks like they are owned/operated by the same people. There is also an inn/hotel and a gas station on the property which is just off I-5 at Cannon Rd by Legoland.
-Trip Advisor

Good food with excellent service
Dined on 5/13/14
We been going here for a couple of years. The quality of the food is good with a ton of selections. Good happy hour. Clean with nice decor. They also offer some solid gluten free menu selections. Always enjoyable.
-Trip Advisor

Good and convenient
Dined on 4/27/14
Stayed at the WestInn and ordered room service from here. Food came quick and hot. Meatloaf was huge and good. Bit pricey but worth it since we didn’t want to drive for food.
-Trip Advisor

Divine Stroganoff &Filet Mignon!
Dined on 4/24/14
We’ve dined here several times and the food and service are consistently very good. Also a dependable place to entertain friends or business associates. Desserts are so good that is hard to choose just one!
-OpenTable

Easter Brunch
Dined on 4/20/14
Easter Brunch was outstanding. We love eating at The Bistro and have been coming here since they opened. A great place for food, service and all.
-OpenTable

Great place
Dined on 4/19/14
The food was outstanding, our request for a booth was happily granted. The hostesses were very nice and genuine.
-OpenTable

Favorite place!
Dined on 4/18/14
Always a good experience! Food is always tasty and service is always amazing!!! It’s out favorite place!
-OpenTable

Always Great!!!
Dined on 4/17/14
I am never disappointed by Bistro West. The ahi tartar appetizer was so fresh and so good. I had the chinese chicken salad and it was very good. I am always open to bringing clients and coworkers as I know the food and service is always spot on.
-OpenTable

Surprising experience
Dined on 4/17/14
We were happily surprised by our very positive experience. Terrific wine list, interesting and tasty menu, good ambience and great service. Highly recommend.
-OpenTable

We’re locals, and dine here often…
Dined on 4/15/14
Since moving to Carlsbad 4 years ago, we’ve dined at Bistro West every month or so, and keep on coming back for the quality of the cuisine, the consistency of the quality, good service and pleasant ambiance. The “comfort food,” like the beef stroganoff, meatloaf, pasta dishes, great burgers, steaks, are quite good, because what is offerer is solidly of good quality and hearty. The limited selection of sea food is excellent. Looking for a sure fire place that has something that will appeal to practically everyone? I don’t know of anyone who ever felt less than satisfied that they dined here.
-Trip Advisor

Great off the freeway dining
Dined on 4/15/14
The atmosphere and food are wonderful here! The steak melts in your mouth! Highly recommend! Greeted right away and they handled our reservation promptly. The service was a little slow but made up for it in personality!
-OpenTable

Great food and drinks
Dined on 4/13/14
Bistro is definitely one of my favorite spots to dine in North County. All meals are prepared with the freshest ingredients and are skilfully crafted. They have their own garden where they grow herbs, fruits and vegetables. Their menu changes seasonally as they take the farm to table approach. You can’t go wrong with a Carlsbad Cooler or Chicken Cordon Bleu.
-OpenTable

Great Food
Dined on 4/10/14
We ordered in twice while staying at the West Inn. The mushroom ravioli and roasted beet and goat cheese salad was to die for.
-TripAdvisor

One of the top restaurants in Carlsbad
Dined on 4/9/14
Their food is of top quality an a wide menu to entice everyone. One of my favorite restaurants in Carlsbad/Oceanside area. Their waiters are trained well and our entire experiences have been very enjoyable.
-TripAdvisor

Wonderful As Always
Dined on 4/9/14
The food and service were wonderful as always….the waiter we had was very attentive and the food came out with the beautiful presentation and tasted delicious.
-OpenTable

Business Meeting
Dined on 4/7/14
Business meeting and the waiter was excellent.. as well as the food and staff. Great experience thank you!
-OpenTable

Celebrating our 40th Anniversary
Dined on 4/6/14
We were celebrating our 40th anniversary with dear friends of 35 years. We were greeted and taken to our table right away. Our server was a Pro, explained the special of the evening and took care of us completely. I wish I could remember her name. We all ordered something different and each one was presented beautiful and tasted delicious. As always, everything was consistently perfect. Thank you, we will be back again.
-OpenTable

Good food, good spirits, good for families
Dined on 4/3/14
After a long day at the amusement park, the family needed a good place to eat and relax. The atmosphere at the West bistro was perfect. The music is loud enough to mute the noises from the children, but at the same time it wasn’t too loud so that my wife and I could still speak. From entry, the service was well staffed and appropriately attentive. Our waitress took our order in quick fashion, brought drinks for the children in cups with lids, and kept the wine flowing. The real highlight of the evening was the quality of the food. From the fresh beef stroganoff to the homemade pot pie, mac & cheese and spaghetti, the food at West bistro was a respite from the over-processed park food that I have endured for the previous week. In sum, I would not hesitate to bring a family, a couple or any gathering to West Bistro next time I’m in Carlsbad.
-TripAdvisor

Had a lovely early dinner
Dined on 3/31/14
Had a lovely early dinner with a colleague and great service. Love this spot for meeting business associates as well as friends because of its varied menu and naturally grown veggies. The venue is top notch.
-OpenTable

Outstanding fresh food
Dined on 3/28/14
This was our first visit to Bistro West, and it was fabulous. He had the Bison burger and I had the roasted vegetable panini with a side of fresh fruit. They split a roasted beet salad for us, which we both loved. I like the fact that their vegetables are grown on their own farm. You can taste the freshness. My husband and I will definitely come back here. I want to try everything on the menu. The service was great, too.
-OpenTable

Fabulous!
Dined on 3/28/14
I highly recommend this restaurant! We had lunch with friends from Bonsall and our experience was delightful. Our food was delicious, we had attentive and very knowledgeable waitstaff and the ambiance was perfect. Over the past six weeks, we dined here three times; each visit was excellent. If I lived in this area, Bistro West would certainly be a favorite to entertain friends and family.
-TripAdvisor

Excellent find and reasonable price
Dined on 3/26/14
This was a great dining experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. Food was tremendous: Caesar salad & pesto fettuccine. It was a nice twist to the usual basil & garlic pesto. Everything was very fresh. Several unusual wines by the glass – I recommend the Spanish Arborino.
-TripAdvisor

Wonderful restaurant!
Dined on 3/23/14
Our wait staff was very attentive and our meals were fabulous! Highly recommend this restaurant to those who want a quality meal for a reasonable price.
-TripAdvisor

Fantastic food and service!
Dined on 3/22/14
What a great restaurant! We were looking for a good meal in an open evening while on vacation in the San Diego-Carlsbad CA area. We found Bistro West via Trip Advisor and we weren’t disappointed. The restaurant is very nicely laid out and we were able to use Open Table to book our reservation for the evening we wanted. When we arrived we were greeted at the door and shown directly to our table. The food is fresh and delicious and the service is great. We would go back again as it was the best meal we had on our entire vacation. Highly recommend Bistro West in Carlsbad CA!
-TripAdvisor

This food is ridiculously good and honestly underpriced
Dined on 3/19/14
I am a food buff so I always try local restaurants, this is 5-star quality food for 2-star prices. I tried the chicken noodle soup as I was not very hungry when I arrived after flying all day. I couldn’t even finish it, it is so hearty and fresh I felt bad leaving it!
-TripAdvisor

Service is Excellent
Dined on 3/18/14
Excellent food and service, all at reasonable prices. Menu includes some unusual and interesting variety. It’s easily worth the couple of miles from center “city” Carlsbad. Go.
-OpenTable

Service is Excellent
Dined on 3/16/14
My husband and I enjoy coming here for brunch. The food is consistently good. The service is excellent. We always enjoy coming here.
-OpenTable

Sealed The Deal
Dined on 3/15/14
We stayed @ the hotel next door and were looking for a dinner spot with good options. The fact that I could make a reservation on my iPad using the Urbanspoon app, and that it had a 92% positive rating, sealed the deal for us to try Bistro West. We walked in @7:29 for our 7:30pm reservation and were taken straight to our table. I enjoyed the menu options. My husband ordered Beef Stroganoff (not something you usually see on a menu!) and I ordered Shrimp in Vodka Cream sauce w/ spaghetti. I enjoyed my side salad and the entree was good. The warm sourdough bread and butter before the meal was DELICIOUS. My toddler gobbled those up! We ordered a 4oz filet mignon for my 3 y/o and got him a cup of chicken noodle soup, which he enjoyed as well.
-OpenTable

We Were Not Disappointed!
Dined on 3/11/14
We found Bistro West on Open Table, but it was also recommended to us by our hotel Concierge. We decided to give it a try, and we were not disappointed! We had a terrific dinner! The food was excellent, and our waiter was outstanding. It was very kid friendly also with nice options for the kids. The mexican shrimp was delicious. Our kids loved the bubbling water wall. We will definitely return the next time we are in the area.
-OpenTable

Service Was Excellent
Dined on 3/7/14
Although we live in the area, this was our first time eating here, but it definitely won’t be our last. The menu was very broad & varied, the food was nicely presented and tasty & the service was excellent. What more could you ask for?
-OpenTable

Incredible Food
Dined on 3/4/14
I don’t know where else you can get such incredible food for the cost and Variety! I inquired about the delicious curry Cauliflower soup and the chef came out at the end of the meal to talk to us. Very impressive! I did complain that there is no wild salmon on the menu and he explained why and told me that their farm raised salmon is organic and the best you can buy. The seafood tortellini has an amazingly good sized portion of lobster with and is my favorite entrée. Everybody raved about our food and I will definitely go back over and over. This was my sixth time there. My only complaint is that it’s a little noisy and difficult to talk with large parties. It would be great if they had something to absorb the sound a little bit more.
-OpenTable

Consistently enjoyable
Dined on 2/2014
We first went to this restaurant through an offer at the gas station next door. Our expectations weren’t that high, but we were very pleasantly surprised. After the first visit, we took some of our extended family and have been back several times. So, neither of us has had a meal we didn’t like. The quality is consistent and the food is very tasty.
-Linda (Trip Advisor)

Excellent
Dined on 2/2014
This restaurant is VERY consistent with both its food and service. They have their own garden and adapt menu items to utilize these vegetables. It is a great place to go for a date or a business dinner. Large wine selection. Modern. Ok for kids, but I’ve never seen young children during my dining experience. The bar is also a great dining option.
-Lacy333 (Trip Advisor)

Nice Restaurant
Dined on 1/27/14
This is the bistro sibling of the more formal West Steak and Seafood restaurant, both adjacent to the very pleasant West Inn. The bistro is really a very nice restaurant with fancy decor, but still suitable for Children. Good drinks and food for the adults and also a children’s menu. Not the cheapest restaurant around but very good for adults with children who still want a good dinner in a nice setting.
-TomInLa (Trip Advisor)

Dinner with friends
Dined on 1/24/14
Bistro West in Carlsbad, dinner with friends who live in San Diego. Bistro West is just off the 5 freeway right off an off-ramp near a gas station. Not where you would expect a decent restaurant. It was good and very busy. We had a friendly and efficient server. She was also very patient with our 3 hour dining experience. I had the seafood special and split a chopped salad with Carmen. The meal was very pleasant and we would return if the situation presented itself.
-Burnie (Trip Advisor)

Wonderful
Dined on 1/19/14
Didn’t know this was just a couple a of miles away. It is a wonderful restaurant with outstanding food, service and sophisticated ambience. A real find.
-Jim W (Open Table)

Loved it
Dined on 1/17/14
Had a wonderful birthday dinner here. The food and service were great. Loved the birthday complimentary dessert and their Black Cherry Mojito was amazing!
-Open Table Diner

Excellent
Dined on 1/12/14
I have taken my family (adults) here on a few occasions when out of town family is looking for a place for Sunday breakfast. Much to my surprise the place is virtually empty and as such seems like they prepared the restaurant just for us. The service is very good and attentive; the food is outstanding and servings were enough for the big eaters and yet not too much doe the lighter eaters. Presentation is excellent and ambiance both inside and outside is extremely pleasant. Prices are certainly reasonable as well. Highly recommend.
-Steve (Open Table)

Great cuisine–something for everyone!
Dined on 1/7/14
This restaurant is part of hotel complex, which usually means that the restaurant/s are terrible. This restaurant and it’s sister restaurant are the exception to the rule–it is awesome! The food is consistently great and has a wide variety of food available, truly something for everyone –and it is all very good. A gem!
-Tripadvisor

Romantic with a great meal
Dined on 12/30/13
Spent our anniversary evening at the Bistro West and once again left feeling we had a great dining experience. My Filet Mignon was one of the best cuts of meat I’ve had, literally able to cut it with a knife. The Halibut plate was a nice, fresh filet on an assortment of shelled seafood. We took a favorite wine ($15 corkage fee) although they have a large wine list at very favorable prices. Atmosphere in the restaurant is stylish with a low sound level despite the number of seated diners. BTW, the bar area has an excellent appetizer menu should you arrive early.
-Tripadvisor

Yummy food and wonderful staff
Dined on 12/19/13
We had a lovely dinner of appetizers. They were more than filling and very fresh. The waitstaff was friendly and very helpful. Glad we went there for our late dinner.
-Tripadvisor

Great food & family friendly
Dined on 12/17/13
We visited with our kids after a full day at Lego land and loved the dinner. Waiters were so nice. Food came fast. Ahi tartar is amazing! Price is reasonable. The dining room was energetic. Highly recommend if you are looking for a special dining experience while visiting Carlsbad area.
-Tripadvisor

Once a week spot
Dined on 12/10/13
You have to make a reservation, otherwise it’s open seating in the bar. Surprisingly it’s adjacent to a gas station. We affectionately refer to it as the gas station restaurant. Every meal is great. Pricey, but good.
-Tripadvisor

Upscale lunch dining
Dined on 11/30/13
Great food and service with many choices and wide salad selection. Large portions and staff is very attentive, quite at environment and we were not rushed.
-Tripadvisor

Thank you!
Dined on 10/8/2013
Everyone raved about the food and the service. They all called it a Class Act. Even with our uninvited guests with kids, the servers took care of them so professionally and made it seamless. Appreciate you and Bistro West for making our Special Day such a Joy! Look forward to doing another event there. Thank you and Success!!
-Don

Those squash blossoms really are incredible.
Dined on 10/7/2013
It was the cold milk and cookies at bedtime that did it. That was what made us realize we should have stayed at the West Inn and Suites when we were in Carlsbad. Let me back up. We don’t normally write reviews for hotels where we have not actually stayed. Read the full review.
-WanderlustWonder.com

Thank You
Dined on 9/5/2013
We had a large group in your restaurant last night to celebrate my wife’s birthday. Your staff did an exceptional job starting in the bar all the way out into the dining area. The food was very good and was hot when we got our meals. This is directly a result of the management of the restaurant and we wanted to give kudos to both you and the folks who served us. The only issue we had is the same one that we have every time we frequent your establishment and that is we never see your smiling face. We actually hope that you remember us and hope to see you soon.
-Guest

Great lunch spot
Dined on 9/2013
Have only been for lunch, several times. Never had a bad experience from service to food to atmosphere. Meatloaf sandwich is fantastic.
-Gorgea (Trip Advisor)

Mobile Review
Dined on 8/11/2013
Our favorite restaurant in San Diego county. They always have outstanding food and excellent service. We highly recommend Bistro West.
-Urban Spoon

What a perfect gem!
Dined on 7/25/2013
Everything about our dinner here was perfect’. We arrived and were warmly greeted and seated promptly. Our server greeted us right away and offered excellent service throughout our meal. The food was awesome. We started out with chicken noodle soup which was great! Next we ordered a pizza which was big enough for us to share and one of the best pizzas that I have had. Drinks were also very good! For dessert, we had panna cotta. It was light and very tasty. I would recommend this place without reservation. Great food, excellent service and good value!
-Tripadvisor

Great gluten free menu and preparation!
Dined on 7/11/2013
Excellent lunch here after a morning of kayaking. My niece has Celiac and their gluten free menu was outstanding. Good happy hour specials, including $2 of glasses of wine. The ahi tartare appetizer was fantastic as we’re all of our entrees. I had the braised short ribs, tender and delectable. Boyfriend had the swordfish which was also quite tasty. Family members said their entree salads were yummy, too, but I didn’t get to taste them because they ate every last bite! Finished it off with creme brulee and the chocolate trio dessert – perfect for sharing between the 6 of us. The chocolate trio is rich and decadent, I’ve gotten it a couple times before I advise reservations – we were lucky to grab a spot in the bar because they were full on a Thursday night. Our waitress, Jessica, was fantastic. Helpful, engaging, on top of everything but unobtrusive. Great meal and great time.
-Tripadvisor

New favorite place
Dined on 7/5/2013
Wow what a great place! Wonderful atmosphere and service second to none! Great food. A must while in Carlsbad CA.
-Tripadvisor

What an Amazing Place!
Dined on 7/5/2013
Wow what a great place! Wonderful atmosphere and service second to none! Great food. A must while in Carlsbad CA.
-Tripadvisor

Surprising mix of everything right!
Dined on 6/20/2013
Really great restaurant! High quality food and ambiance, but extremely reasonable prices and family-friendly.
Ambiance:
Went here with the fam to celebrate a birthday party. The ambiance was a really surprising mix of everything right! Open layout (like a Cheesecake Factory), with a huge visually spectacular floor-to-ceiling water display that partitioned the room. Huge arrangements of live orchids, and all waiters in tails. Seemed expensive (Mastros++), but a lot of family groups with babies happily enjoying their meals. Noise was lively, but not overly loud.
Food:
Very good to excellent menu selection and food. Had a lot of different choices (again like Cheesecake), but also some gourmet-prepared dishes (escargot, etc.), and a decent wine selection. I got a truffle pasta and the hubby got a seared ahi tuna steak with some delicious and generous sides. Both were very good, but I can’t say excellent because I think they might have overly-sauced or buttered a couple of things. Others in my party loved their dishes, all of which were reasonably priced between $15-$30 per plate.
-Yelp

Exceptional
Dined on 6/18/2013
I’ve been twice before, but this time was exceptional. My date and I went on a Tuesday night. The place was busy, but not overcrowded. We waited for a table in the bar with some glasses of wine and a friendly bartender. We ordered as soon as our table was ready, and our waiter was wonderful. He was polite and lighthearted. Once the food came, we about died. We both ordered the filet mignon. Our steaks were perfect. Tender and delicious! The chef really knows what he’s doing. I can’t wait to try out West, the hotel’s steakhouse.
-OpenTable

Bistro West a Gem in Carlsbad
Dined on 5/5/2013
We had two menus to choose from, the lunch menu and the brunch menu! Drink specials and great choices for all taste! Recommended by my son and Bistro West lived up to his word!! Easy to find, easy to enjoy, so what a gem!
-OpenTable

Great Find
Dined on 5/3/2013
I went here for the first time on Friday, May 3rd for lunch. I was presently surprised. The restaurant is furnished beautifully. It is in the Cafe section where the take out section is. The building opposite is for dinner only starting at 4:30PM.
Food is excellent and well presented. I highly recommend the Bistro West.
-OpenTable

A+++ for Food, Service & Atmosphere
Dined on 4/29/2013
Braised Short Ribs off the bone was by far the best dish on the table! All meals were excellent though as everyone loved the food. Round tables made it perfect for groups or families of 6. Service was friendly and impecible. Surprised at the number of babies and toddlers. And oh what a Monday with bottles of wine 50% off! We cant wait to return.
-OpenTable

Great Food and Service
Dined on 4/24/2013
I have been to this restaurant many times but only now am I finally writing a review. I really enjoy the look and ambiance of the place, great for happy hour or a first date all the way to bringing friends and family. The menu is broad but all consistent. The basic premise is home cooked food done well. Kobe Meatloaf, Filet Mignon Beef stroganoff and grilled fish. all the food I have had here has been impressive including the appetizers. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is the mood for some stick to your ribs and get full kind of meal. Happy hour is pretty good as well
-Yelp

Great Food and Service
Dined on 4/7/2013
I’ll keep coming back! Food is awesome with good portions, service is great. I’ve been here numerous times for lunch and have had several items on the menu. Blue cheese bison burger is one of the best I’ve had as is the seared ahi salad. Their specials are always special, you can’t lose.
You won’t be disappointed.
-Yelp

Recommended
Dined on 3/29/2013
Warm contemporary decor. Welcoming greeting and seating. The menu has inviting dishes at various price ranges. One can eat well no matter how much you have to spend. My Chinese Chicken Salad was excellent. I will stop in again on my next trip to SD. Recommended!
Special features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, romantic
-OpenTable

It Was a Special Birthday
Dined on 3/22/2013
It was a special birthday dinner we had at Bistro West. The service was the best, not to mention the taste of the food. It took an hour to get there from San Diego with 5:00 p.m. Friday night traffic but it was well worth the time.
-OpenTable

5/5 stars!
Dined on 2/25/2013
I needed a place to have dinner to celebrate my fathers 60th birthday with my family. We made reservations very easily and were a party size of 12. We had excellent seating. The atmosphere is excellent. Its casual yet upscale. Employees are very kind and professional. Our waiter’s name was Oscar. Anything we requested Oscar brought promptly and made excellent suggestions. I personally had lasagna and was very satisfied. The menu is a mix of traditional and untraditional entrees. The price range is perfect for what you get. Even if you do not order an appetizer(which are very tasty), the bread is outstanding. I gave Bistro West 5/5 stars because they made my father’s birthday a memorable one. Everyone in our party was impressed and very happy with the overall experience.
-Yelp

Great Food and Service
Dined on 2/18/2013
Once again, Bistro West comes through with great food and service. We were seated right away, had a very helpful waiter (thanks Augustin) and the beef stroganoff was as good as ever. The kids menu is good as well, and it was a nice casual dinner with a touch of class. We’ll definitely be back when we are in the Carlsbad area.
-Yelp

Great Food and Service
Dined on 2/18/2013
Once again, Bistro West comes through with great food and service. We were seated right away, had a very helpful waiter (thanks Augustin) and the beef stroganoff was as good as ever. The kids menu is good as well, and it was a nice casual dinner with a touch of class. We’ll definitely be back when we are in the Carlsbad area.
-Yelp

Outstanding
Dined on 2/2/2013
This food is outstanding. I tried the South Jersey Philly Cheesesteak sandwich with the shoestring fries. The au jus on the side to dip the sandwich in was a perfect complement.
-OpenTable

Always Good
Dined on 2/1/2013
Always good food at a reasonable price. it’s our safety place when we don’t want to go far from our house.
-OpenTable

Highly Recommended
Dined on 1/31/2013
I had a surprise party here last week for my boyfriend’s birthday and made reservations for 25 people. I was shocked to see that they had put us in a back room all by ourselves, with one huge table to fit everyone. I am just beyond happy about this! All of the other restaurants I called said they would have to break us up into different tables and we would sit with everyone else. This was the ultimate best thing they coulda done for us. The servers, all men, were also incredibly nice and accommodating (we got drunk and silly and they laughed along with us and weren’t bothered by us.) The food was good (I’m a vegetarian so I had the veggie panini and it was excellent) and everyone else enjoyed their food. They also have a full bar and the drinks we had were also very good. I highly recommend this place as an awesome location to have a nice dinner or to have a big dinner party. Thanks Bistro West for making my boyfriend’s birthday awesome!!
-Yelp

Go-To Place for Celebrations
Dined on 1/29/2013
This is my go-to place for any type of celebration…it’s got a great vibe, the prices are really fantastic given the look and feel of the restaurant. I like to keep it as a special place because it adds to the “specialness” of the event I always make my reservations via Open Table – never a hiccup.
-OpenTable

What a Gem
Dined on 1/19/2013
What a gem of a casual dining restaurant. Great creative menu, fresh ingredients, great service and great value.
-OpenTable

New Spot
Dined on 1/5/2013
Just moved to Carlsbad and think we have found a regular spot.
-OpenTable

Beet Salad
Dined on 1/4/2013
Beet Salad was amazing, both in taste and presentation.
-OpenTable

Great Food
Dined on 1/4/2013
Great service with great food is always. Good combination.
-OpenTable

Perfect Reservation
Dined on 12/31/2012
Our reservation was exactly as requested.
-OpenTable

Seared Ahi
Dined on 12/31/2012
The seared ahi and New York steak entrees were great!
-OpenTable

Bring Your Appetite
Dined on 12/27/2012
Went there today for lunch. bring your appetite . kid friendly, great food. calamari was great. I had the rotisserie chicken which was moist. Sweet potato fries were great and to full to have dessert. Great service, and good place. Nice parking too.
-TripAdvisor

Heaven
Dined on 12/18/2012
So, so, so good! Every bite! I’ve already been back because the food and service are just spectacular. Prices are reasonable, and the service is friendly. Great for dates, friends, birthdays, all adult occasions!
-TripAdvisor

Really Good Food
Dined on 12/16/2012
This place is a real treat, and not as expensive as you’d expect. Love the meatloaf and most everything on the menu (I can’t honestly recommend everything because I haven’t tried it all yet).
-TripAdvisor

The restaurant is a very special place and the west room was perfect for us. I’m looking forward to having our Christmas party there again next year! I’ve already looked at December next year and I’m thinking we will book the room for Saturday the 8th! (And they did!)

~ Thank you for all your coordination and help with our party. I’ll look forward to seeing you soon at the restaurant!
-TripAdvisor

Always Good
Dined on 11/18/2012
We held a private event for a 50-person engagement party. Dealing with Paula was a pleasure. The serving staff was great, and most importantly, the food was excellent and came out hot. We would definitely hold an event there again.
-OpenTable

Professional and polite atmosphere
Dined on 11/15/2012
My business partner and I frequently meet and eat at the Bistro West. I have noticed that the Bistro West caters to a variety of groups, from business to family with a very professional and polite atmosphere.

As a result, I decided to step out of the box and rent their private room for a brand new women’s networking group. Because it was the initial launch, I did not have much capital and I was not sure how many women would actually attend. I was unsure how the Bistro would handle the lack of hard facts on my part.

I want to say thank you to the staff and management at the Bistro West. You were all so kind, accommodating, professional and friendly. We all loved the food and we appreciated your willingness to be flexible in a very new situation. We will be back!
-TripAdvisor

This is a new spot for us
Dined on 07/15/2012
This is a new spot for us. We have returned three times in the last month, bringing guests and enjoying the menu and ambiance and service. It’s now on our “favorites” list.
-TripAdvisor

This is a great restaurant
Dined on 07/15/2012
This is a great restaurant in a really mundane location- located right next to the I-5 and a gas station, but just far enough away from both so that you really don’t know they’re there. There isn’t a view, but the inside of the restaurant is quite pretty and surprizingly hip. The food was very good, and there was a huge selection of items on the menu. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, and hope to go again soon.
-TripAdvisor

Fantastic food with fantastic service
Dined on 07/13/2012
Fantastic food with Fantastic service… Couldn’t get any better. Thanks for the experience!
-TripAdvisor

Always a favorite
Dined on 07/13/2012
Excellent food, reasonable prices. Delicious cocktails!
-TripAdvisor

Try it you’ll love it!
Dined on 06/30/2012
Love the feel and decor. Great selection of both food and wine. Great tasting food! Staff is wonderful!
-TripAdvisor

Continually one of the better
Dined on 07/08/2012
Continually one of the better spots for a reasonably priced, creative and well presented meal. Excellent service by energetic and respectful waiters and waitresses. Even offered us a gluten free menu when my wife, who has Celiac Disease, asked about gluten content.
-TripAdvisor

We have eaten here many times
Dined on 07/07/2012
We have eaten here many, many times and the food and service are always consistently very good. One cannot say that about many North County restaurants! Absolutely love their beet salad and hamburgers…..a very nice Gluten free menu for our son as well……
-TripAdvisor

This is a great comfort-food
Dined on 06/16/2012
This is a great comfort-food place that is convenient to our house. It was busy as usual. The start of service was a bit slow (like no one knew we were seated) but then was fine and attentive. The great thing here is they can accommodate our son’s special diet and that makes him feel special (he doesn’t have to eat home food again). The appetizer (steak pomodoro) is heavenly and our dinners were delicious and generous. I love this place and highly recommend it. Just note: the flat ceiling and walls make the sound level a bit intense at times and very live; just be prepared.
-TripAdvisor

Creative dishes and expansive menu
Dined on 06/11/2012
Creative dishes and expansive menu make this a place I want to go back to and try other dishes and enjoy the nice Napa Valley wines that are featured.
-TripAdvisor

Read more reviews on OpenTable.com