Reviews

Reviews

Leave your own review or see what other customers are saying.

Wonderful
Dined on December 1, 2014
Great dinner! Went with three friends had a great time. And who knew Monday night was half price bottles of wine!! Had a bottle that would have not normally had but could due to the half off. Great chicken wrap app and can’t say enough about the tuna entree! Matt our server was fantastic !! Super helpful and attentive . He made a good dinner just great!
-OpenTable

Variety, Large Portions
Dined on November 29, 2014
We ate at the Bistro West four times during a six night stay at the West Inn and Suites. Each time the quality of the meals was very good. There is a range of offerings from sandwiches to pasta to fish to steak. The child’s menu also has a good variety of choices. I ordered the ahi tuna salad twice it was so good. Another dish that my daughter loved was the chicken pot pie. My husband recommended the gumbo.
-TripAdvisor

Upscale Brunch
Dined on November 26, 2014
We have eaten here for years and the experience is always exceptional. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, great food. A romantic diner for two, a group of friends or an early diner with the family and kids is very enjoyable. Menu is exceptional with vegetables from their own organic garden, fresh fish and pasta, steaks, pizzas and burgers . . .all good.
-TripAdvisor

Continued Great Dining Experience
Dined on November 21, 2014
We have eaten here for years and the experience is always exceptional. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, great food. A romantic diner for two, a group of friends or an early diner with the family and kids is very enjoyable. Menu is exceptional with vegetables from their own organic garden, fresh fish and pasta, steaks, pizzas and burgers . . .all good.
-OpenTable

Savory
Dined on November 19, 2014
Locally grown vegetables served with your dishes, great food, service, wine selection, $20 gets you a nice dish although there is pricier items on the menu, don’t forget to ask for hamburger of the month the chances are it is to die for:)
-TripAdvisor

Overall Great Experience
Dined on November18, 2014
A group of 9 of us had Sunday lunch here and we loved it! Every one of us was more than pleased with our food and the staff! We started with 3 different appetizers, calamari, tuna tar-tar and lettuce wraps, all were incredible! I had seafood canelloni which was outstanding! For dessert we shared the cheesecake and crème brule. The staff was attentive but not intrusive and the ambiance was awesome! I loved the water feature! Next time I’m in Carlsbad, I will definitely be back!
-TripAdvisor

Enjoyable
Dined on November 16, 2014
we have been there so many times. Food is great and so is the service, environment, and any other aspect pertaining to it. You can find your order for the price range of $20 or less, buffalo wings is divine, always ask for hamburger of the month, the chances are you will be thrilled:) their salads are great and they grow everything in their garden:)))))))))))))) so it is fresh, just go and enjoy, you will not be disappointed.
-OpenTable

Large modern eatery
Dined on November 14, 2014
This is a large ultra modern restaurant with a large menu. Very large portions of generally comfort food. This is a good thing! There is something for everyone on the menu from entrees to sandwiches. Prompt. Service and reasonable prices. Really lovely decor. Good place to go. Might be a wait on weekends as this place is quite popular.
-TripAdvisor

Great food and ambiance for a special lunch
Dined on November 13, 2014
I always enjoy the time I spend here. They take the time to know you, your preferences, greet you with warmth and serve a good meal. I have a special ‘booth’ I like to bring clients to for the quiet to talk and they never forget that spot when I arrive. It makes professional dealings so much better to have a nice venue, good food, as well as to be heard and the bonus is to then conduct a business meeting over a pleasant meal.
-OpenTable

Great Food, relaxed atmosphere
Dined on November 12, 2014
Loved the burgers and deli sandwiches. Burger is cooked to your stated done-ness (accurately) and the meat is top quality. Tastes like a real burger rather than what we have come to expect from places where there is no beef taste at all. Prices are very reasonable and they have a full bar as well. Good place for lunch or light dinners!
-TripAdvisor

Farm to table freshness
Dined on November 12, 2014
We enjoy discovering the burger of the month and this month it is appropriately turkey themed and it was delicious. The chef creates interesting and appealing dishes from seasonal vegetables. We haven’t been disappointed and always get a nice amount of food and the price is very fair.
-OpenTable

Our Carlsbad Favorite
Dined on November 6, 2014
We eat here every time we’re in Carlsbad. The service and food are excellent. First we split a mezze plate appetizer. The selection of olives, cheese, hummus, tzatziki and grilled flatbread was a delicious combination. We couldn’t resist the delicious ham and bean soup, then on to our dinner choices! My Manciata Salad (steak salad) was excellent with the steak perfectly grilled, crispy onion strings and bleu cheese dressing. Husband’s Braised Short Rib was even better than he’d thought it could be. But we weren’t done yet – the cre’me brule’e duo was the finishing touch! We’ve been here 3 years in a row and this is the only dessert we’ve ever tried – it’s that delicious, so smooth with the “burnt” sugar atop. We highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or special vacation dinner.
-TripAdvisor

A Great Find
Dined on November 1, 2014
We just moved to the area and are exploring restaurants. Bistro West was perfect. We went there for lunch with friends. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Both of us ladies got the veggie sandwich, which had perfectly done veggies on delicious ciabatta bread. Next time I’ll be sure to try the Chinese chicken salad -it looked wonderful and was stated as such. We’ll definitely be back. Also, I heard the steak house next door has a new chef so dinner next time!
-OpenTable

Excellent in every way
Dined on October 18, 2014
Since I found this restaurant through Tripadvisor I wanted to confirm it matches the positive reviews. We were visiting CA and are very particular and can never find what we want simply by asking for suggestions. We are the nutty family that usually travels with our own food to guarantee we like it and trust the source. We brought our 6 and 9 year olds to Bistro West, wanted nice, not too fancy, we prefer all organic meats and fresh veggies, a varied menu that makes everyone happy and tastes better than what I could make at home. The staff was very friendly and courteous even on a Friday night, we didn’t have a reservation but they were able to seat us with a very short wait. My son had the pot pie which was huge, gorgeous and delicious. I had the roasted chicken which was perfect. The salads were excellent, fresh, light and flavorful. The atmosphere was also lively, and in spite of being very packed, we continued to have great service. I know there are a lot of great restaurants in CA, but we were very happy to find this one through tripadvisor.
-TripAdvisor

Excellent in every way
Dined on October 18, 2014
Since I found this restaurant through Tripadvisor I wanted to confirm it matches the positive reviews. We were visiting CA and are very particular and can never find what we want simply by asking for suggestions. We are the nutty family that usually travels with our own food to guarantee we like it and trust the source. We brought our 6 and 9 year olds to Bistro West, wanted nice, not too fancy, we prefer all organic meats and fresh veggies, a varied menu that makes everyone happy and tastes better than what I could make at home. The staff was very friendly and courteous even on a Friday night, we didn’t have a reservation but they were able to seat us with a very short wait. My son had the pot pie which was huge, gorgeous and delicious. I had the roasted chicken which was perfect. The salads were excellent, fresh, light and flavorful. The atmosphere was also lively, and in spite of being very packed, we continued to have great service. I know there are a lot of great restaurants in CA, but we were very happy to find this one through tripadvisor.
-TripAdvisor

Never A Disappointment
Dined on October 14, 2014
I can’t say enough good things about Bistro West! My family and I ate here last year and had one of our top 5 meals ever. We were lucky enough to bypass our 1 hour wait (no reservations were made and it was Friday night at 6:00) and score a table in the bar area. Service was just as great as dining in the actual dining area, I presume. Our waitress Christina was super friendly and accommodating. Here’s what we ordered (all of it was outstanding):

Drinks:
Stone Pale Ale
French Pear Martini (St. Germain and Pear Vodka) – I LOVE this drink
After Work Delight (tropical drink) – tasty and very sweet

Appetizer:
Calamari Fritti – the best calamari I’ve had. Although, I don’t eat a lot of seafood so my experience is limited. However, the aioli’s were tasty as well. My family eats seafood and they were thoroughly happy with it.

Entrees:
Beef Stroganoff – OMG the best tasting sauce I’ve ever eaten! The mushroom along with the steak was to die for!
Reuben Sandwich – I know you’re thinking, a reuben, big deal. YES. Very big deal. The meat was so flavorful and the cheese was super melty. My brother ordered the side of garlic mashed potatoes and they were delicious.
Machiata Salad – This salad was served on a piece of flattened bread and had shoestring onions, gorgonzola butter, tomatoes and what was similar to a skirt steak but may have been NY strip. It was interesting to eat salad on top of break with steak, but it worked!

Dessert:
Creme Brûlée – white chocolate and tahitian vanilla. Both were equally enjoyable.

It got to a point where we were being completely inappropriate and eating off of each others plates and dipping potatoes into stroganoff sauce. That’s how good everything was! The entire meal was delicious and we will definitely be back! The total for all of our food (some was on HH) was a little over $100 so it’s not too pricey for the quality of food and service you receive.
-TripAdvisor

Late Lunch
Dined on September 30, 2014
The food is always great. Except this last time the pizza was not so good. Will not get the pizza again. The service in the bar is not the best. The bar manager is not on top of it. However, the staff in the dining room is always attentive. We will be back, because we love it most of the time
-TripAdvisor

Amazing ham and bean soup – GREAT restaurant
Dined on September 30, 2014
This is the first restaurant we return to each year for our extended stay in Carlsbad. They take reservations on the phone or through Open Table, but we also have walked in during the week with good success in being seated right away. Great bar for more casual dining, and we find the dining room very lovely and comfortable. Sitting in a booth along the side allows for more privacy and is a bit quieter, but we have never found this place to be loud or noisy. Service has always been top notch in all regards with friendly, competent servers and busboys. We find prices for reasonable for the quality of food some of which they grow in their own gardens or which is locally sourced. The highlight for us, however, is the ham and bean soup. A cup at $5.50 seems a very reasonable price, and the bowl for just a bit more can become a meal when ordered with their chopped or beet salad. It is a rich, hearty soup with a high-quality ham. A couple of our other favorite entrees are the spaghetti in vodka tomato cream sauce with grilled shrimp ($18.95); braised short ribs with mashed potatoes (falling-off-the-bone meat good at $22.95); Mary’s rotisserie chicken ($18.95). These all seem like very appropriate and reasonable prices having eaten at many other restaurants in the area, and we have never been disappointed with a meal at Bistro West. GREAT wine list, and there are sometimes specials. Some of the previous reviews don’t sound at all to us like they are referring to this restaurant, and to say any fast food restaurant serves better food for the money makes no sense based on our several experiences here. On top of always having had a great meal and service, we also have always had a manager ask us if we are enjoying our meal at which point we certainly could have expressed any disappointments or concerns we might have. Fortunately for us, we’ve always been able to honestly say, “Our experience has been fabulous!!”
-TripAdvisor

Local Gem
Dined on September 29, 2014
Bistro West is one of my favorite restaurants! The food is always excellent, great service and a good price. I highly recommend having dinner here..
-TripAdvisor

Wow!!!
Dined on September 25, 2014
We spend one week at Marbrisa Resort in Carlsbad every September.
During that week, we eat dinner at Bistro West 6 out of 7 days.

The food, wine list, cocktails and beer are beyond excellent and imaginative!
Local produce add to the delightful ambiance and menu selections.

From the bartenders, hosts, managers (and the staff proudly laud the owners too), we can not wait till we return next fall for the delicious food, cocktails and professional family-like staff.
-TripAdvisor

Loved this place!! Salmon w/veggies on the kids menu!!
Dined on September 24, 2014
Organic, tasty, fresh…..I loved eating here and also ordering the room service for my 2 week stay at the hotel. Highly recommend it, very best food in this area.
-TripAdvisor

Surprise on the West Inn & Suites Property
Dined on September 2, 2014
Usually you think the “bistro” type restaurant at most hotels is just a way to serve their free breakfasts, but that’s opposite of the way Bistro fits into the hotel scene. Bistro West is a full service restaurant that serves a full menu of delicious food all day long. We were in Carlsbad for a family wedding and the grooms family choose to hold the rehearsal dinner (for about 70 people) in one of their private dining rooms. The limited choice menu was excellent and all the dishes were prepared and served well.
-TripAdvisor

Fantastic Dining
Dined on August 29, 2014
A beautiful restaurant I found by accident, it has some of the best food I’ve ever had. I always love going to Bistro West, it’s a great experience.
-OpenTable

Pleasant Surprise
Dined on August 28, 2014
Lots of families here after a day at Legoland but overall my wife and I were able to enjoy a night out while on vacation. Food was excellent and service was good. Nice variety on wine list.
-OpenTable

Delish
Dined on August 24, 2014
Love, Love Bistro West, every time my husband and I are in town we eat here and it is flawlessly delicious every time !!! Love the Sole a must try .. and the farm fresh chef’s selection raviolis were amazing.. with fava bean asparagus, fresh green peas, pancetta .. so YUMMY>>> cant wait for our next dining experience. Service is spot on, great wait staff and front desk… A true Gem….
-OpenTable

Very good, fresh food, charming, sophisticated ambiance
Dined on August 24, 2014
Good selection of fresh food, charming venue – good choice for a business lunch or with friends. Nice outdoor seating. Very quiet.
-TripAdvisor

Sat at the bar
Dined on August 24, 2014
I took a job a couple month’s ago which brings me to Carlsbad about every 6 weeks. This place is a one block walk from the hotel that my company uses. Since I travel alone, I sit at the bar because I find sitting at a table alone to be kind of awkward. In the case of Bistro West, it also gave me the chance to chat with the incredible team that they have at the bar including Steve, Billy, and Jason. All very nice guys who also served me food on 2 of my 3 recent visits. Farm to table food that was all very good. Good selections of wines. Friendly people. 2 thumb’s up. Try desserts, I had the creme brulee and it was awesome. This is a locally owned place which also adds to the appeal.
-TripAdvisor

Great food and service.
Dined on August 23, 2014
A great place for a casual meal. Great vibe, great wine list and excellent service.
-OpenTable

Great food, great service!
Dined on August 19, 2014
This restaurant was referred to us by another restaurant who couldn’t accommodate our party until later then we wanted to eat. I went with my four kids, husband and best friend. The waitress was extremely patient with my kids who were definitely tired and not in their best of moods. She helped keep them entertained and brought snacks to keep them busy until their dinner arrived. The food was very very good. The mozzarella appetizer is one of the best things I’ve ever eaten! So thankful to have found this gem!
-OpenTable

Daughter’s Home Coming
Dined on August 13, 2014
Great atmosphere wonderful friendly service and great food. Most important my 15 year old daughter loved the place and her breakfast.

Great food at a fair price
Dined on August 11, 2014
Just so happens we were staying at the West inn adjacent to the restaurant,and after a nice day on the beach,we walked to the bistro. We were seated in the bar immediately and our server was at the table minutes after we were seated.I asked for a recommendation between 2 dishes,and she gave a honest opinion and did not try to upsell to the higher priced meal.I had the seafood tortellini with the Maine lobster tail,though not a huge portion,I was pleasantly full.Also deserts are crazy good and the wine selection is very resonable.

Good food reasonable price
Dined on August 5, 2014
Stayed nearby and read good reviews on TA. Waitress very helpful in giving advice on menu items. Liked the fact that food was locally grown. Had the salami appetizer and red beet salad(shared) , both were prepared well. I had the chicken pot pie & my husband had the short ribs. Portions were huge! We should have shared the entree! Nice meal!

Superb food and service
Dined on August 1, 2014
We ate as a family late Friday evening and we were treated to wonderful service and a great menu. The choices were diverse and local organic ingredients were used liberally. the portions are very generous and we loved the ambiance of the dining room. the prices reflect the level of service and quality of the food. A really lovely evening.

Amazing restaurant!
Dined on July 23, 2014
We looked on Yelp to find a place to eat while vacationing in Carlsbad. It was late and we were all tired and starving. We found this place, it had great reviews so we tried it out. Boy were we happy with our choice! The restaruant was packed so we ate in the bar. Our waitress was so nice and attentive. The food was amazing and reasonably priced. And everything is farm to table as they have their own farm where a lot of their produce and fruit come from. We were so impressed with our meal that we joked about pitching a tent outside so we could be first in line the next day for lunch.

Second Visit and Still a Hit
Dined on July 15, 2014
This was our second visit to this restaurant and we had yet another wonderful experience. Our service was fantastic and the food was great. The atmosphere is as classy as ever. The children’s menu has a number of good choices. We were extremely impressed with how management handled a situation that arose between two different diners at the restaurant. A young woman next to us was dining with her young son, who had screamed several times. We are used to being around young children and did not think much of it. But another patron yelled at her, which made this woman very upset. The management profusely apologized to the young woman and reinforced that it was a family restaurant and that children are always welcome. He ended up giving her a free meal. As parents of a young child, we thought this was a very kind gesture. Overall, the cost of the meal is a little on the high end. But it was worth it yet again. We will be back if we are in the area again.

“>OpenTable.com